JAMMER5'S POLYRANT

Rants My Way

Stuff that may or may not rhyme time

I write a bit of poetry from time to time. Nothing special, but it does let my itty-bitty brain roam. So here’s nada:

The Path

‘Twas no yellow brick road
I was left pursuing.
This fragment of thought
Could become my undoing.

It drifted in memory;
Then floated on out,
Like a leaf on the water;
Its existence in doubt.

The path looked inviting,
Yet harbored no youth.
While its beauty swept fair;
It was marred by the truth.

I stepped on its course,
While trusting in lies.
To believe in such things,
Left me lost and unwise.

The light held forgiveness,
Yet the shadows held hate.
Was my future to walk here?
Was this my grand fate?

As the darkness closed in,
And the demons held sway,
I found just enough courage
To turn ’round and walk away.

September 18, 2010 - Posted by | Stuff

13 Comments »

  1. Yep, that fork in the Road.. turn left at Alberkerky.. what would have happened if we chose the other path? I guess we will never know.. this poem gets ya thinkin’ :)

    Comment by Cazzie | September 18, 2010 | Reply

    • Gracias Cazzie. Yep, life’s all about choices.

      Comment by jammer5 | September 19, 2010 | Reply

  2. I like this. It’s very Robert Frosty.

    Comment by Vodka and Ground Beef | September 18, 2010 | Reply

    • And you do have a thing for frosty stuff, huh? I’m still cracking up over your last post. :-)

      Comment by jammer5 | September 19, 2010 | Reply

      • mmmmmmmmm… Frosty. I am going to Wendys

        Comment by Bearman | September 19, 2010

      • Pick me up a hot fudge Sunday :-)

        Comment by jammer5 | September 19, 2010

  3. Holy heck, man! Is there nothing you can’t write. That was awesome. You should do the magpie.blogspot.com thingy if you get bored. . You would be King Bard Mackdaddy.

    Comment by Lisa | September 18, 2010 | Reply

    • You ain’t so bad yourself, lady. Gotta try and keep this old brain working.

      Comment by jammer5 | September 19, 2010 | Reply

  4. Lucky you. I kept on the wrong path.

    Comment by nursemyra | September 19, 2010 | Reply

    • I took many paths. Some led to pretty weird places, but since I’m into weird anyway . . .

      Comment by jammer5 | September 19, 2010 | Reply

  5. It’s about golf , right?

    Comment by frigginloon | September 20, 2010 | Reply

    • Uh, ya, ya, that’s right.

      Comment by jammer5 | September 20, 2010 | Reply

  6. test

    Comment by jammer5 | September 21, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

